How to succeed in life a simple three words mantra - think, wait, and fast

“I can think, I can wait, and I can fast.”

How to succeed in life a simple three words mantra - think, wait, and fast

“I can think, I can wait, and I can fast.”

At first glance, these words don’t make any sense at all.

But just be with me.

I’ll tell you these are not merely just words. This is the mantra of a successful life.

So, for the past few days; I’ve started reading this book, “Siddhartha” by Herman Hesse.

If it were not a recommendation by Naval Ravikant.

I’d have never picked up this book. Because I don’t consider myself as a highly spiritual person.

But THIS book isn’t about spirituality, it’s about how to find the purpose and meaning of your life. This book is a beacon of light, which enlightens the right path for you.

The first few chapters are about the background of a young boy, Siddhartha, who’s on a quest to find enlightenment.

The young boy is smart and performs ablutions and spiritual rituals.

He still longs for wisdom and enlightenment.

Therefore, he opts to embark on a journey to a city to seek explanations to his bewildering questions.

There he met a prosperous merchant, Kamaswami, who tries to test the young boy’s knowledge and wisdom by asking what things he can do.

To which Siddhartha replies back with something — that I consider as the mantra to succeed in life.

“I can think, I can wait, and I can fast.”

Upon hearing these words, Kamaswami was flummoxed and began to ponder, is this lad truly intelligent?

And asks Siddhartha how these things can help.

I’m still feeling goosebumps as I write the explanation.

This explanation pierced through my heart like an arrow and destroyed all my nescience.

The lessons are profound and astute.

I’d highly suggest rereading the explanation.

Siddhartha explains, I can think, “I have the good rules for decision-making, and having good questions you can ask yourself and others.”

I can wait, “I think from a long-term vision, and refrain from mis-allocating your resources.”

I can fast, “The ability to withstand all the difficulties and disaster. Training yourself to be uncommonly resilient and have a high pain tolerance.”

Ever since, I’ve read these explanations.

I’ve been contemplating over — how I can follow these principles in my life.

Haven’t found the answer, but badly wanted to share these teachings with you.

These are evergreen and such sagacious lessons.

You just can’t hold yourself back from sharing it with the rest of the world.

Let me know if you’ve read the book or have used these principles in life.

Cheers,

Keep ruminating over the lessons!

Reply

or to participate.